Certifies food products and gastronomic preparations of catering, cosmetic products, other non-food products (eg footwear, clothing, etc.).
It helps the vegetarian consumer to identify products obtained on the market without the use of ingredients deriving from animal suffering. Milk, eggs, honey, etc. are allowed.
The Icea specification for the certification of vegan vegetarian products was developed in collaboration with LAV Lega antivivisezione
which for some years has been promoting an information campaign in favor of 100% vegetable consumption.
From the beginning we have focused a lot on the “biological” and “vegetarian” binomial.
Our certification, in fact, even though it is also applicable to conventional products, aims mainly to enhance the Bio-Vegan and Bio-Vegetarian products that are identified with dedicated brands.
In the case of vegetarian products, for example, the ingredients based on milk, eggs and honey must be organic or, alternatively, come from farms that respect animal welfare and are fed with GMO-free feed.
Not all consumers know that bread can contain lard, the rennet used for cheese production is normally obtained from the veal abomasum and that to produce the wine products of animal origin are used such as casein, albumin and jellies animals.
Even the careful reading of the list of ingredients that appears on the label is often not enough to reassure the consumer who prefers a vegetarian or vegan diet.
The use of ingredients of animal origin is sometimes masked by generic wordings supported by the law. In other cases, their indication on the label is not required because they are contained in limited quantities or because they are eliminated following the completion of the production cycle. This is the case of technological aids and manufacturing aids used in the preparation of food products.
The specification contains the product and process requirements required to obtain this certification and the related identification mark.